Album Review: POPOF - Love Somebody [Hot Creations]: DOPE on a Rope.

Jamie Jones and Lee Foss’ Hot Creations label launched in 2010 as an independent label supplying a unique blend of House and Techno music. Hot Creations features artists like Patrick Topping, Richy Ahemd and super group Hot Natured who produce a deeper sound of House and Techno with a hint of Disco influence. Hot Creations’ debuts their first artist album of the year with POPOF’s “Love Somebody.” POPOF, also known as Alexandre Paounov, comes from France and was once part of the party collective Heretik System in Paris in 1996. POPOF has also worked with Chemical Brothers and has been signed to Sven Väth’s Cocoon records before starting his own label in 2009 called Form.


POPOF’s latest album is packed with gentle rolling basslines and melodies that will sweep you out of your chair. Featuring 11 tracks all with different vibes, POPOF expands his sound to be more melodic and deep, contrary to his hard hitting Techno that his fans are used to hearing from him. One song in particular called “Get Together” features an incredible retro synth pattern that combines with the bassline perfectly to create a modern groove with old school influences. POPOF says (about this track), “I’ve been composing club-oriented dance floor music since the beginning, and this album project allowed me to create tracks with a calmer side to them. I teamed up with a singer, Arno Joey, who does the vocals on most of the tracks and Miss Kittin is also featured on ‘Always On My Mind’, a very sunny, warm song. Moreover, there are two other tracks that I’ve worked on with French artist Animal & Me - ‘Going Back’ and ‘Always On My Mind’ - who, in my opinion, is a newcomer to follow attentively.”

With this album, POPOF was able to expose people to the subtle aspects of his productions while keeping the energy consistent. With 11 tracks on the album, he presented a wide variety of ideas. The album varies from smooth Deep Techno to what I like to call wormhole Techno, not to be confused with the black hole Techno of Drumcode Records. The song, “I Want U,” shows POPOF’s experience with the more classic sound of Techno that throws your mind for a loop and takes you somewhere else by using melodies that seem to float you across the dance floor.

Love Somebody was released on Monday June 29th, 2015 on Hot Creations. Check out the full tracklist and keep up to date with POPOF by following his social media below.


POPOF 'Love Somebody' Tracklisting:

1. Words Gone feat. Arno Joey
2. Lidl Girl
3. Your Eyes
4. Pack & Rollin'
5. Going Back feat Arno Joey
6. Get Together feat Arno Joey
7. Have 2 Be
8. It's Been A While
9. I Want U
10. Always In My Mind feat Miss Kittin
11. Outro